Admission with Museum Card

Experiments in Concretism

EMMA - Espoo Museum of Modern Art, Espoo

  • 6.3.2024–2.3.2025


Experiments in Concretism takes a fresh look at the long tradition of concretism and its contemporary variations. Concretism is a form of non-figurative art based on the use of geometrical shapes and structures. The exhibition presents the many facets of this diverse art movement, highlighting the expressivity and playfulness of various materials. The exhibition features many artworks that are spatial, experiental and also pieces that activate the visitors faculties of perception. At EMMA, the concretist pieces engage in a holistic dialogue with the industrial architecture of the Exhibition Centre WeeGee, designed by Aarno Ruusuvuori. The featured works are curated highlights from EMMAs collections, some of which were acquired or commissioned especially for this exhibition.

The exhibition places a special focus on the various ways in which contemporary art reinterprets and comments on modernism. It also celebrates the 100th anniversary of the birth of Lars-Gunnar Nubben Nordstrm (1924–2014), by presenting a pick of works associated with this pioneer of Finnish concretism and geometrical abstractionism. The exhibition takes audiences on a journey back in history to the origins of concretism by presenting a selection of abstract works both by L-G Nordstrm and his contemporaries. The exhibition was produced with the kind support of the Lars-Gunnar Nordstrm Foundation.

Artists featured alongside Nordstrm are Timo Aalto, Martti Aiha, Siim-Tanel Annus, Elina Autio, Stig Baumgartner, Inka Bell, Juhana Blomstedt, Brd Breivik, Birger Carlstedt, Kari Cavn, Lars Christensen, Jacob Dahlgren, Sonia Delaunay, Ann Edholm, Carolus Enckell, Beryl Furman, Kristjan Gudmundsson, Jorma Hautala, Erkki Hervo, Elina Juopperi, Kaisu Koivisto, Ola Kolehmainen, Matti Koskela, Matti Kujasalo, Muriel Kuoppala, Antti Kytmki, Leonhard Lapin, Maija Lavonen, Ernst Mether-Borgstrm, Eila Minkkinen, Sarah Morris, Kasper Muttonen, Maija Nrhinen, Pekka Nevalainen, Jussi Niva, Lars-Gunnar Nordstrm, Paul Osipow, Kysti Prkinen, Ritva Puotila, Mari Rantanen, Silja Rantanen, Louis Reith, Ragna Rbertsdttir, Pekka Ryynnen, Piila Saksela, Pekka Sassi, Hannu Siren, Sandra Sirp, Airi Snellman-Hnninen, Antti Ukkonen, Raimo Utriainen and Irma Weckman.

Share this with your friends!

  • Facebook
  • X
  • Instagram
  • WhatsApp

Museum contact details

EMMA - Espoo Museum of Modern Art
Ahertajantie 5, 02100 Espoo

043 827 0941

Museum website

Yhteydet julkisilla

Näytä reitti museolle Matkahuollon reittioppaassa


Katso reitti Matkahuollon reittioppaassa


EMMA - Espoo Museum of Modern Art, Ahertajantie 5, 02100 Espoo


Tai lataa Reitit ja Liput -sovellus

Admission fees

Admission with Museum Card
Admission with Museum Card


Payment methods

Nyttelykeskus WeeGeell voi maksaa kteisell ja pankki- tai luottokortilla (Visa, Visa Electron, Mastercard, Mastercard Maestro). Lisksi maksuvlinein kyvt Smartumin maksukortti, SmartumPay, Edenred-kortti, Edenredin mobiilimaksu, ePassi ja Eazybreak.

Nyttelykeskus WeeGee on Museokortti-kohde.

Opening hours

Mon Closed
Tue 11:00-17:00
Wed 11:00-19:00
Thu 11:00-19:00
Fri 11:00-19:00
Sat 11:00-17:00
Sun 11:00-17:00


Näyttelyn tekstit kielillä