Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova -museum


 Admission with Museum Card

90 Years of the Rettig Palace

The 90th anniversary exhibition of the Rettig Palace explores the architecture and original furnishing of the building that currently serves as a museum. The exhibition's wide array of visual material offers a window into the palace's many rooms and decades of history.

The builder of the palace, Hans von Rettig (1892–1979), was a member of the Rettig industrial family that made its mark in Turku in the mid-1800s with the founding of a factory for tobacco manufacture. In addition to the tobacco industry, Hans von Rettig was also keenly involved in the shipwright trade and sailing. He also had an interest in literature, theatre and his hometown Turku.

A Prominent Palace

The Villa von Rettig was completed in December of 1928 on a historically significant lot by the Turku Cathedral and the Old Great Square. The palace, designed by architect Valter Jung, had its facade facing down the river Aura. The park built at the building's front was made to be as symmetrical as the shape of the lot itself would allow. The main entrance was situated on the side of Hämeenkatu. The courtyard was to be entered through an imposing iron gate that would only open for visitors of exceptional importance.

The yard on the Nunnankatu side was put to a more pedestrian use. It acted as a thoroughfare for the palace's residents and as a place for the staff to go about their daily chores. The garage, among other things, was also situated here.
Lavish Quarters

The heart of the four-storey building was the so-called banguet floor. It was designed for receiving visitors, with rooms that put forth an air of dignity and affluence. The task of furnishing these rooms was put upon the architect Valter Jung and the designers of the Boman furniture manufacturer.

The rooms varied in tone, from dark, baroque wood to a lighter, more airy veneer. The ballroom, dining hall, tearoom, library and master office had windows facing the hillside garden. The side facing the river had a winter garden in the shape of a semi-circle, used in part to hold festivities.

The second floor held sleeping quarters for the inhabitants and guests alike. Now the floor has been put to use for art exhibitions, but some elements of the original space still remain. These include the ornamental hallway by the bedrooms and the host family's bathroom, furnished in green marble.

The topmost floor held the palace's observatory and billiard room. Their architectural form and details were a reminder of the host Hans von Rettig's interests in seafare and sailing ships. The space, spanning the floor's entire length, offers a view into the Rettig tobacco factory, as well as towards the harbour by the river Aura. The billiard table was put aside to make way for Hans von Rettig's extensive collection of miniature maritime vessels. Today the billiard room is in use as the museum's conference space.

The deed to the palace was transferred from the Rettig family to the Turku Workers' Savings Bank in 1988, and ultimately to the Matti Koivurinta Foundation in 1991. The museum of history and modern art, Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova, was opened on the Rettig Palace premises and underneath its garden in 1995.

Share this with your friends!

Print version

Voit ostaa Museokortin tästä museokohteesta tai verkosta

Museum contact details

Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova -museum
Itäinen Rantakatu 4-6, 20700 Turku

0207 181 640

Museum website

Admission fees

Admission with Museum Card
Admission with Museum Card

10/7/5,5 €

Payment methods

Käteinen. Pankki- ja luottokortit. Maksuvälineenä käyvät myös Tyky-Kuntoseteli+, Tyky Online, Smartum Liikunta- ja kulttuuriseteli, Smartum Saldo, Ticket Virike, Virikeseteli, Edenred-kortti sekä ePassi Sportti & Kulttuuri.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Opening hours

Mon 11:00-19:00
Tue 11:00-19:00
Wed 11:00-19:00
Thu 11:00-19:00
Fri 11:00-19:00
Sat 11:00-19:00
Sun 11:00-19:00

Closed Jun 23.-25 and Dec 24-25.2017

Accessibility [the criteria]


Näyttelyn tekstit kielillä


  • Museum


    Museum is closed due to renovations and is opened again earliest in autumn 2019.

  • Luostarinmäki Handicrafts Museum

    Luostarinmäki Handicrafts Museum

    Only district of wooden houses that survived the fire of 1827 in Turku. Hauses in 18 small blocks are...

  • Naantali Museum

    Naantali Museum

  • Biological Museum

    Biological Museum

  • Wäinö Aaltonen Museum of Art

    Wäinö Aaltonen Museum of Art

    WAM is the Turku City Art Museum. The museum showcases changing art exhibitions as well as works from its...

  • Forum Marinum Maritime Centre

    Forum Marinum Maritime Centre

    Here begins the sea! Forum Marinum is a lively and versatile centre for maritime activities. During summer...

  • Turku Castle

    Turku Castle

    This more than 700 year old granite castle is one of the top sights in Finland.

  • Casa Haartman

    Casa Haartman

    Artist Axel Haartmanin's unique home from the 1920s in the picturesque town of Naantali.

  • Vanhalinna Museum

    Vanhalinna Museum

    Liedon Vanhalinnas historic hill fortification is a popular cultural destination by the beautiful Aurajoki...

  • Turku Art Museum

    Turku Art Museum

  • The Sibelius Museum

    The Sibelius Museum

    The Sibelius Museum is the most versatile music museum in Finland.

  • Turku Cathedral Museum

    Turku Cathedral Museum

    The Turku Cathedral Museum upstairs in the south gallery takes visitors on a trip all the way back to the...

  • Pharmacy Museum and The Qwensel House

    Pharmacy Museum and The Qwensel House

    The oldest surviving wooden house in Turku holds charming chambers as well as Finland's oldest pharmacy...